//
you're reading...
Body Politics, Never Apologize For Your Body

Beauty Is as Beauty Does

At the playground the other day (does this tell my life story, or what?), two older girls around 8 years old were intently focused on the two young girls in my charge asking the sorts of questions kids do, when a few more girls joined us. When one girl told me that she was five and I looked surprised, and older child goes, “she doesn’t look like it because she’s chubby!” and I felt I was well-placed as a child-care supervisor at that moment.

“It takes all shapes, all sizes to make beautiful come about.
Wouldn’t it be boring if we all looked the same?”

I really believe that. More and more lately.

My eyebrows are about half grown-in:


and I wake up in the morning and say, this is me, even makeup free.

I’m even proud of my little tummy, the way it feels pressing against my shirt, the way it looks under my sundress.

These points of progress are all a part of a greater, body-positive plan that I have been working on, for myself and those around me.

Everywhere I look, I see beauty in the real people on streets and the falsified and prepackaged beauty in advertisements and on magazine covers makes me disdainful.

Psh!

We can do better than that!
We are better than that!

We hold beauty in our hands, in our skin, inside our bodies, in our eyes, in our words.

I’ve never had a more freeing thought.

We create beauty by BEING.

You can create beauty in everything, small and big, that you choose to do.

About aoawaywego

Iā€™m struggling to discover reality in a society that hides behind a curtain of falsified perfection. Without believing in impossibilities, my thoughts are written out to find beauty in the imperfections and intricacies.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Beauty Is as Beauty Does

  1. Easy for the pretty girl to say šŸ™‚

    Posted by amanandhisprose | August 22, 2011, 4:04 PM
    • thankfully, now, I can accept that as a compliment instead of brushing it off as false or silly! so… thank you šŸ™‚

      Posted by aoawaywego | August 22, 2011, 4:06 PM
      • Interesting point though. I get that all the time: “yeah, easy to be all ‘fat acceptance’ when you look like that, what are you, a size 2?” I would love to be more vocal and active in that area, but I’ve always hesitated, assuming I won’t be welcome. Can only women who don’t conform to society’s standards of beauty advocate for ‘beauty from within’? How do we become powerful advocates for things we believe in, when our genetics or lifestyle or both belie the opposite set of values? Rhetorical, but something I ponder, nonetheless.

        Posted by A. | August 22, 2011, 5:55 PM
      • Thank you for those thoughts! I agree. It’s also difficult, because regardless of my size or appearance, I struggled with an inner-fat-phobia and battled with that part of me, too. I love the idea of us becoming powerful advocates! It’s here, in sight šŸ™‚

        Posted by aoawaywego | August 23, 2011, 8:43 AM
  2. I love love love this. You are beautiful.

    Posted by Confidence | August 23, 2011, 1:50 AM

Leave a Reply

